general:, advertising:

2016 Acura RDX and ILX Earn 2015 Top Safety Pick+ Award

2016 Acura RDX and ILX Earn 2015 Top Safety Pick+ Award

ARLINGTON, Virginia – The 2016 Acura RDX midsize SUV and the 2016 Acura ILX compact sedan earned the 2015 Top Safety Pick+ award from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, providing a major boost for Honda’s upscale brand among shoppers who put safety at their top of their lists.

Acura is the first luxury brand to earn the IIHS Top Safety Pick+ rating across its entire model line.

“Acura continues to champion safety performance as a key luxury attribute,” said Jon Ikeda, vice president and general manager for the Acura Division in a statement on Wednesday.

The 2016 ILX and RDX earned the top safety distinction from the IIHS for models equipped with the optional AcuraWatch suite of safety features.

AcuraWatch includes a collision-mitigation braking system with forward-collision warning, lane-keeping assist, adaptive cruise control and lane-departure warning.

Both vehicles have “good” ratings in other IIHS crashworthiness tests.

On sale now at Acura dealerships, the 2016 Acura ILX and RDX also earned the highest five-star safety rating from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

Standard safety equipment on the 2016 RDX and ILX includes vehicle stability control with traction control, rearview camera, antilock brakes and six airbags.

Key RDX competitors include the Audi Q5, BMW X3 and Cadillac SRX.

The ILX targets the Audi A3, Buick Verano and Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class.

Edmunds says: Kudos to Acura for this major safety achievement.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright 2000 Automobile center